2024 San Felipe 250: Dan McMillin breaks out the tape, Alan Ampudia breaks out the top time

2024 San Felipe 250: Dan McMillin breaks out the tape, Alan Ampudia breaks out the top time


Dan McMillin acquired a swanky new livery for the 2024 SCORE International season as Monster Energy’s The Beast Unleashed came onboard to sponsor his #23. He ended up finishing San Felipe 250 qualifying on Thursday with what resembled a rat rod with a duct taped #23 on the doors.

McMillin flipped his truck during the reconnaissance lap, navigating through a series of esses before hitting a lump in the ground leading into a lefthand turn and doing two rolls before landing on his roof. The McMillin Racing team removed the body, applied a blank backup shell that left the engine and rear fully exposed save, used duct tape to apply the numbers along the doors, and sent him out. Despite this, he managed to get back on track and complete a lap.

“There was a small mound and I didnt see it,” said McMillin. “I wasn’t going very fast but it just spit me over one or two times. The guys and Roger (Rogelio Pereira Jr.) got it back to the pits and got the truck running again and we went out there and put down a pretty conservative but good lap. The truck seems fine. We will take a good look at it and get ready to race on Saturday.”

Alan Ampudia narrowly edged out defending SCORE Trophy Truck champion Bryce Menzies and Toby Price for pole. Price had swept both qualifying sessions of the 2023 season at San Felipe and the Baja 400, but opted for a more conservative strategy this time around due to the course’s challenging terrain. Defending winner Luke McMillin, Dan’s brother, qualified fourth ahead of Christopher Polvoorde, the latter racing a new Mason all-wheel drive truck.

Mint 400 winner Adam Householder was twentieth in TT.

Jason McNeil, last year’s outright SCORE Four-Wheeler champion, continued his momentum by setting the fastest time in Trophy Truck Spec, just barely beating EJ Herbst. McMillin was not the only rollover of the day as Ryan Hancock did so, but he also reached the finish.

The same could not be said for Mavrick Gaunt, whose crash prevented him from setting a time. Five other trucks did not even make the start like Rob MacCachren, who had “some unforeseen issues” that kept from from doing so, meaning he will start at the rear in his first race back in a Jimco AWD TT for Fastball Racing.

Ampudia will be the first Four-Wheeler to start the race on Saturday at 9:00 AM local time.

Qualifying results

PositionNumberDriver of RecordClassTimeMargin110Alan AmpudiaTrophy Truck5:49.583Leader21Bryce MenziesTrophy Truck5:50.955+ 1.372346Toby PriceTrophy Truck5:51.101+ 1.518483Luke McMillinTrophy Truck5:54.279+ 4.696594Christopher PolvoordeTrophy Truck5:55.000+ 5.417621Tavo VildósolaTrophy Truck5:56.468+ 6.885770Kevin ThompsonTrophy Truck6:01.463+ 11.880889Mike WalserTrophy Truck6:05.056+ 15.473941Justin LoftonTrophy Truck6:05.939+ 16.356101LGus VildósolaTrophy Truck Legends6:09.441+ 19.8681138Eric HusteadTrophy Truck6:09.498+ 19.9151297Gabriel TorresTrophy Truck6:13.638+ 24.5501334Broc DickersonTrophy Truck6:15.244+ 25.66114200Jason McNeilTrophy Truck Spec6:18.113+ 28.53015263EJ HerbstTrophy Truck Spec6:18.939+ 29.3561651Steve JackTrophy Truck6:20.467+ 30.8841737LRolf HellandTrophy Truck Legends6:21.165+ 31.58218219Thor HerbstTrophy Truck Spec6:21.686+ 32.1031923Dan McMillinTrophy Truck6:22.013+ 32.43020204Cade GarciaTrophy Truck Spec6:24.111+ 34.5282158Tracy GrafTrophy Truck6:24.490+ 34.90722273Jordan BrenthelTrophy Truck Spec6:25.245+ 35.66223285Justin DavisTrophy Truck Spec6:25.864+ 36.2812465LGreg AdlerTrophy Truck Legends6:26.883+ 37.3002516Cameron SteeleTrophy Truck6:27.648+ 38.6502678Tracy PooleTrophy Truck6:27.787+ 38.2042782Sam BaldiTrophy Truck6:29.579+ 39.99628242Bryce SwaimTrophy Truck Spec6:29.999+ 40.4163985Mikey LawrenceTrophy Truck6:30.104+ 40.52130297Jorge SampietroTrophy Truck Spec6:30.184+ 40.6013124Adam HouseholderTrophy Truck6:30.531+ 40.9483261LDavid PayneTrophy Truck Legends6:33.377+ 43.79433211Timothy WilsonTrophy Truck Spec6:34.023+ 44.4403426Dave TaylorTrophy Truck6:34.293+ 44.7103533Roberto Romo Jr.Trophy Truck6:34.516+ 44.93336260Santiago CreelTrophy Truck Spec6:36.000+ 46.417372Chad BroughtonTrophy Truck6:36.745+ 47.16238241Stephen BealTrophy Truck Spec6:38.971+ 49.38839249Chase SwansonTrophy Truck Spec6:39.034+ 49.4514087Dallas LutrellTrophy Truck6:40.529+ 50.9464119Tim HerbstTrophy Truck6:42.000+ 52.41742207Mason CullenTrophy Truck Spec6:43.310+ 53.72743228Ryan HancockTrophy Truck Spec6:44.063+ 54.48044245Ethan HagleTrophy Truck Spec6:44.855+ 55.27245259Matt WinslowTrophy Truck Spec6:44.905+ 55.32246240Chris MillerTrophy Truck Spec6:45.784+ 56.20147236Michael MarsalTrophy Truck Spec6:46.326+ 56.74348294Vincent MunozTrophy Truck Spec6:47.492+ 57.9094947Kit StokesTrophy Truck6:48.900+ 59.3175063Ruben TorresTrophy Truck6:49.022+ 59.43951282Brent FoxTrophy Truck Spec6:49.796+ 1:00.21352264Arnoldo GutierrezTrophy Truck Spec6:50.515+ 1:00.93253205Joe DelucieTrophy Truck Spec6:51.420+ 1:01.8375453LWade PorterTrophy Truck Legends6:52.029+ 1:02.44655247Kevin ShieldsTrophy Truck Spec6:52.469+ 1:02.88656257Ernesto FigueroaTrophy Truck Spec6:53.894+ 1:04.31157277Pete TovarTrophy Truck Spec6:54.763+ 1:05.18058203Mitch McNeilTrophy Truck Spec6:54.860+ 1:05.2775966Chris HertschTrophy Truck6:57.400+ 1:07.8176085LClay LawrenceTrophy Truck Legends6:58.314+ 1:08.73161209Jose RuvalcabaTrophy Truck Spec6:59.679+ 1:10.96062250Dustin SwansonTrophy Truck Spec6:59.689+ 1:10.10663284Jose ContrerasTrophy Truck Spec7:00.680+ 1:11.97064266David ZieglerTrophy Truck Spec7:00.876+ 1:11.29365299Charles DorranceTrophy Truck Spec7:01.450+ 1:11.86766224Miles WyattTrophy Truck Spec7:03.000+ 1:13.41767246Ben HagleTrophy Truck Spec7:04.000+ 1:14.41768213Josh BeyerTrophy Truck Spec7:05.888+ 1:16.30569201Scott McNeilTrophy Truck Spec7:06.880+ 1:17.29770238Elijah KigerTrophy Truck Spec7:10.992+ 1:21.40971289Tanner RustTrophy Truck Spec7:15.063+ 1:25.48072212Bud PecoyTrophy Truck Spec7:15.798+ 1:26.21573244Oliver FlemateTrophy Truck Spec7:16.062+ 1:26.479DNF258Mavrick GauntTrophy Truck SpecDNFN/ADNS274Jason BabcockTrophy Truck SpecDNSN/ADNS27Jonathan BrenthelTrophy TruckDNSN/ADNS80Josh DanielTrophy TruckDNSN/ADNS262Mick MagherTrophy Truck SpecDNSN/ADNS11Rob MacCachrenTrophy TruckDNSNA


Source link


Learn More →