BCCI include uncapped Dhruv Jurel in India’s squad for the first two Tests against England; no place for Ishan Kishan

BCCI include uncapped Dhruv Jurel in India’s squad for the first two Tests against England; no place for Ishan Kishan


The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has officially revealed the 16-man squad for the first two Tests against England, scheduled to commence on January 25 at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad.

Dhruv Jurel takes center stage

In a surprising move, the BCCI has included uncapped wicketkeeper-batter Dhruv Jurel in the national squad. The 22-year-old, who made his IPL debut last season, has been consistently showcasing his skills and was recently part of the India A team during their tour to South Africa. Having featured in 15 first-class games with an impressive average of 46.47, Jurel’s inclusion adds a fresh perspective to the team’s wicketkeeping options.

No place for Ishan Kishan

Jurel joins the squad alongside KL Rahul and KS Bharat as the third wicketkeeper. However, there is no place for Ishan Kishan, who had taken a break during the two-match Test series in South Africa and the ongoing T20I series against Afghanistan. The omission of Kishan raises questions about the team’s preferred wicketkeeping choices for the upcoming series.

Injury forces change in pace department

Avesh Khan, who replaces Prasidh Krishna in the squad, might make his Test debut against England. The decision comes in the wake of Krishna’s exclusion due to a left quadriceps injury sustained during the ongoing Ranji Trophy. Avesh’s inclusion adds depth to the pace attack and brings a new dynamic to India’s bowling lineup.

Also READ: An RCB star joins the England Lions’ coaching staff ahead of Test series against India

Injury woes continue

Mohammed Shami, still recovering from an ankle injury sustained during the World Cup, continues to face setbacks. Having missed the two Tests in South Africa, Shami’s absence poses challenges for India in the pace department. The team management will have to rely on other seasoned pacers to step up in Shami’s absence.

India squad for the first two Tests against England

Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), KS Bharat (wk), Dhruv Jurel (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Avesh Khan

Also READ: England Legend James Anderson reveals his favorite bowler in Test cricket


Source link


Learn More →